EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   Hello Everyone (student with Mustang LX 2.3L 14-18 mpg looking for help) (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/hello-everyone-student-mustang-lx-2-3l-14-a-21340.html)

Mustangwill 04-06-2012 11:46 PM

Hello Everyone (student with Mustang LX 2.3L 14-18 mpg looking for help)

My name is William and I am a college student. I drive a 1993 Mustang LX 2.3L and right about now I get between 14-18 mpg on my daily commute to college and to work.

I am looking for anyway to get extra money and I figured I might as well start with my car. If anyone can tell me how to go about this, I would really appreciate it.

ecomodded 04-07-2012 03:17 AM

I think you will see the best gains ever if you sell the car. Best advice I could give you really, but i will suggest you buy new spark plugs a air filter , distributor cap and rotor. Doing those few things could help large with the poor mileage.

nemo 04-07-2012 07:08 AM

William, glad to have you here. The least expensive thing you can do is to change your driving style. Take a look at 100+ Hypermiling Tips, if you haven't done so. Tell us about you car and commune. How many mile on your car? Well maintained? Stock? Auto or manual? What is the commute like city highway or combination? Do you log your fuel mileage?

If you are looking to cut costs, can you carpool, ride a bike or take a bus? Is replacing the car an option? You could get a car that would get double the mileage. Keep us posted on your results.

cleanspeed1 04-07-2012 08:19 AM

There is a guy on here that made some changes to his Mustang convertible and posted near 40 mpg ( I think, don't quote me ). And that is with an automatic transmission.