EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   Hello from Florida! (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/hello-florida-11709.html)

squriellord 01-05-2010 03:30 PM

Hello from Florida!

Hello EcoModder!

I'm from Florida and I've been working on being fuel-efficient since 2008.

I started driving to high school during my junior year, and my chariot was my beloved 1991 Acura Legend LS, a 3500lb 4-speed automatic sedan. After a few weeks of driving, I was curious about the fuel economy of my car, so after consulting my father I adopted the only system available to me: manually calculating FE at each fill-up, which could only occur if I filled the tank up all the way because there were no fancy on-board trip computers back in 1991. There were trip odometers, so every time I pulled out from a Gate or Raceway I would faithfully reset mine.

I did a bit of research and found a hyper-milling practice which suited me just fine: driving slowly. I would do my best to keep it at 55mph, which was just over 2000rpms on the tachometer, and coincidentally the posted speed limit for the construction zone which occupied most of the highway I commuted on. I could easily (well, not easily) and consistently pull 24+mpg in mixed city/highway driving, with me and my backpack on the way down and an additional passenger on the way back on a heavily spotlighted road.