EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Off-Topic Tech (https://ecomodder.com/forum/off-topic-tech.html)
-   -   Help me choose tires. Non eco project. (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/help-me-choose-tires-non-eco-project-38538.html)

hat_man 08-16-2020 10:30 AM

Help me choose tires. Non eco project.

Hello everyone,

I have a non Eco project car I am restoring and need some help deciding on what series tires to run.

I have no experience with low profile tires so I have no idea how they ride. I know a lower sidewall will be stiffer, but I was hoping that with newer tire technologies, they may have improved from what I have read. So the question is this. Can anyone clue me in on how a 45 or 40 series tire might ride? I know there are many other variables involved (tire compound/tread/width/etc.) but I'm looking for more of a general idea. I definitely want to limit the road noise for the long highway cruises and worry about how the lower profile tires will handle road imperfections. I have found 40 and 45 series tires in 16" and 17" and that will give me plenty of wheel options to compliment the car. I could also use 15" tires and comfortable go to a 60 series tire, but it will limit my options on wheels. I don't want to molest the body so I am limited to a maximum 25" tire and that may even be to tight. I would like at least a 225 width for those occasional (cough cough) times I "might" want to get on the go faster pedal. it will only see 3 seasons (no snow ever) so probably a touring tire of some sort.

Car is a 1976 Triumph TR7 that will have a GM L33 V8 truck engine. I'm not building this to be a great eco car, but definitely a highway cruiser that I can still open some eyes with from the in-town stoplights. Roughly 325+ rwhp when all is said and done. Probably a 60%-70% highway car.

Any advice?

California98Civic 08-18-2020 07:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hat_man (Post 629670)
Hello everyone,