EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   Hey Now... (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/hey-now-8008.html)

gap1927 04-20-2009 07:51 PM

Hey Now...

Glad I ran across this sight and hopefully can gain some knowledge and save money on fuel.
A plumber/steamfitter by trade, I've been a car nut almost all my life including a few years of dirt track racing.
We have a '02 Olds Silhouette minivan which averages 20 mpg city (26-28 hwy) according to the on-board computer. (no complaints there really)
We also have a '97 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0 litre. This one only averages around 12-13 mpg around town. Highway is around 22-23 mpg. This is the vehicle I would really like to concentrate on improving & will start reading through the threads looking for tips.

SVOboy 04-20-2009 08:59 PM

Welcome to ecomodder! Lots of Jeep owners on the site :)

UfoTofU 04-20-2009 09:12 PM

The other owner is Canadian too

MetroMPG 04-21-2009 11:10 AM

Hi gap1927 - I actually have relatives in TB.

Are you tracking mpg aside from monitoring the OEM gauge? That's the first step. Start up a fuel log if you aren't already keeping your own. Heck, start one up anyway, so we can all see how you're doing.

Daox 04-21-2009 11:19 AM

Welcome to the site gap. I agree with the others, start up a mileage log and make sure you do manual calculations when you physically fill up. That is the only way to know your true mileage.

By looking at your city vs highway numbers, it sounds like you could really benefit from looking at our 100+ hypermiling / ecodriving tips to increase gas mileage - EcoModder.com. It is full of useful tips you can start using immediately. Most of our users find their largest gains here. You can definitely pull those city mileage numbers up. :thumbup:

MetroMPG 04-21-2009 11:23 AM