EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   HHR owner looking to increase mileage (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/hhr-owner-looking-increase-mileage-9489.html)

ecl 08-01-2009 09:02 PM

HHR owner looking to increase mileage

Hi there Ive owned my HHR for about a year and half now and looking to increase my mpgs. Ive been looking around for awhile now so figure i would post up. A little about me im 23 and getting married in 21 days. With all these added expense ive been trying to get all the mileage I can since we've been doing alot of driving about 500 round trip every other week or so, from were we live to her parents place for planning. Also im new to the modding scene just the ecomodding. Any ways the car is an 08 Chevy HHR and im getting roughly 28-30mpg on the freeway and about 25 in town. Hopefully can add a few things to up that. Heres a pic of the HHR

http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/a...R/IMG_2463.jpg

SVOboy 08-01-2009 10:34 PM

Get that little wing off the back firstly :)

Welcome to ecomodder!

cfg83 08-02-2009 12:26 AM

ecl -

Welcome to EM! Once you have your Garage entry set up, you should drive normally to establish a few baseline tanks. That will allow you to compare what changes work best for your car.

CarloSW2

Christ 08-02-2009 12:31 PM

There was one of these back where I used to live with smoothies on it. It was pretty sweet looking, but I never got around to talk to the owner about whether they did it for looks, style, something else, or just to get better aero.

That winglet might not be quite as horrible as many suspect, although I doubt it's helping the matter at all.

If you're looking to go all out aero-modding, starting out with a belly pan will help you with noise, aero drag reduction, and keeping the underside of your (still fairly new) ride clean!