Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Hybrids
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-11-2013, 04:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice

My C-Max - '13 Ford C-Max SEL
Increasing FE in gas versus hybrid cars question

Pardon me if this is a simplistic observation. But, I am somewhat new to Hypermiling and this just occurred to me;

Building a project FE car starting with a hybrid should yield higher mpg improvement numbers than with a gas only vehicle because if you increase your FE by, say, 10% overall on a car that already sees 50mpg, you net a 5mpg improvement. Whereas improving a 20mpg vehicle by 10% only nets 2mpg increase. The flip side to this is that improving a gas hog by 10% saves more gas overall than cutting an already FE vehicle's consumption by the same %.

Is my thinking correct in this?

Matt

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 05-11-2013, 05:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Not Doug

Chorizo - '00 Honda Civic HX, baby! :D
90 day: 35.35 mpg (US)

Mid-Life Crisis Fighter - '99 Honda Accord LX
90 day: 34.2 mpg (US)

Gramps - '04 Toyota Camry LE
90 day: 35.39 mpg (US)

Don't hit me bro - '05 Toyota Camry LE
90 day: 29.44 mpg (US)
Thanked 2,217 Times in 1,708 Posts
Let's put fuel efficiency into two categories: Aerodynamics and fuel consumption. In both categories, your car beats mine soundly.

However, many members say "Your mileage may vary." If you and I did the same modifications, I may see a larger proportional improvement, but probably would not see an equal MPG gain. Perhaps I could keep up.

Maybe I am just doomed because of my drivetrain.
Old 05-11-2013, 11:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Quote:
Originally Posted by Recumpence View Post
Is my thinking correct in this?