EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   EcoModding Central (https://ecomodder.com/forum/ecomodding-central.html)
-   -   I will be renting a prius and need an ABC tutorial on pulse and glide (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/i-will-renting-prius-need-abc-tutorial-pulse-2694.html)

dsq 06-01-2008 06:18 AM

I will be renting a prius and need an ABC tutorial on pulse and glide

I will be renting a prius to go to mammoth mtn from LA.Our 4runner is out of the question with 4$ gas.Its cheaper to rent a prius!!!
I already hypermile but I have no experience on P+G but would love to know the basics etc...I used the search function here but couldnt find a thread that just lists the basics.Is there a basic primer sticky on the site?

Is pulse and glide only for up/down hill driving.Can you do it on level roadway?

Also,is it safe to turn off the engine with auto transmission?Isnt it impossible to steer with motor off???

jesse.rizzo 06-01-2008 07:43 PM

Check this out.
http://www.metrompg.com/posts/pulse-and-glide.htm

That answers most of your questions. I'm not sure about the Prius, but on most cars with power steering, it gets much harder but not impossible to steer with the engine off. This is because the power steering pump is driven by a belt from the engine. It is important that while gliding, after shutting down the engine, you turn the key back to the "On" position, not leaving it on the off or accessory position, since this may lock the steering wheel.

Daox 06-01-2008 07:57 PM

The Prius is of course special when it comes to engine off goodies. It is equipped with electric power steering so no engine needed to have power steering. Shnazzy eh?

Honestly, your best bet is to probably read over this post on cmpg. This is a technique developed by one of the members there and its probably your best shot at good highway mileage. I'll also message one of our resident Prius owners to come say a word.