EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   I'm Simon and I have a diesel (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/im-simon-i-have-diesel-10208.html)

milesgallon.com 09-16-2009 07:09 AM

I'm Simon and I have a diesel

Hello everybody,

I've been doing "practical fuel saving" for the past three years meaning that I save fuel when it's efficient to do so. I check my tire pressure, I follow trucks when practical and try to keep the speed down when not too stressed :)

I don't have eco tires as I did a quick calculation and found out that the eco tires available here are more expensive thant the fuel they would save.

I run a website with a gas mileage calculator and with some tips on how you can improve your fuel economy. It's not one of the water as gas scams though.

I'm interested in discussing fuel saving techniques and would love to own a scangauge some time. Too bad our current 1998 Opel Astra Diesel does is not compatible.

The Opel btw can do up to 45MPG with no mods just careful driving and the right tire pressure.

SVOboy 09-16-2009 12:04 PM

Welcome to ecomodder :thumbup:

How much do LRR tires cost?

milesgallon.com 09-16-2009 12:41 PM

Thanks,

I don't remember the exact cost but it was at least double that of the low price alternative.

Simon

solarguy 09-17-2009 05:30 PM

If you're lucky, the LRR tires might last a little longer than the low end tires. That would somewhat offset the cost difference.

On the other hand, tires with a high or very high treadwear rating will definitely outlast the LRR tires, but return consistently worse FE.