EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   EcoModding Central (https://ecomodder.com/forum/ecomodding-central.html)
-   -   Just got a new car (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/just-got-new-car-18748.html)

tzar 09-07-2011 05:08 PM

Just got a new car

Hi everyone!
I just got a brand new 2011 Toyota Rav4 v6 4WD. It uses 5W-30 oil.
Now, I just went through my first tank of gas, and I am not impressed with the millage.

I am new to ecomodding, but so far I am planning to use a full synthetic oil for the winter time (I am in Toronto, gets to -30C here). Also, I will get a engine block heater.

I will also try and find an ethanol free gas station, but that will be hard.

What are some other ways to improve the MPG?

Thanks !:)

Frank Lee 09-07-2011 07:20 PM

Quote:

Get rid of it while you can and get a car? There was a fuel economy sticker in the window right? Seriously, the Toyota nameplate doesn't give a vehicle good mileage; it's the mechanicals and aero package that does it.

Mustang Dave 09-07-2011 10:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tzar (Post 260010)

Adjust the nut behind the steering wheel. Speaking from experience.

On edit, what are you getting out of it? Please post a fuel log.

tzar 09-08-2011 11:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mustang Dave (Post 260050)
Adjust the nut behind the steering wheel. Speaking from experience.

On edit, what are you getting out of it? Please post a fuel log.

I just fueled up once. I went about 460km and put fueled up 49 liters. Dealership gave me the initial fuel up. It also has to break in.

I was wondering, has anyone considered heating up the fuel line, or the fuel tank?

California98Civic 09-08-2011 01:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tzar (Post 260010)
Hi everyone!
I just got a brand new 2011 Toyota Rav4 v6 4WD. It uses 5W-30 oil.
Now, I just went through my first tank of gas, and I am not impressed with the millage.