EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   Just peeking around (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/just-peeking-around-10829.html)

Corcis 11-01-2009 09:27 PM

Just peeking around

Hey everyone,

Just figured I'd give a nice, "Hi," to everyone here. I'm a broke college student considering an EV-on-the-cheap and stumbled into here. Still a long ways away from anything, but this looks like a trove of information. I sold my '94 Honda Accord a year or so ago and have been mostly-fine without it. I'd like a little in-town car for short trips, which seems to translate well to a cheap EV. Anywho, I'm off to poke around the conversion forums and start poking around Craigslist.

--Corcis

SentraSE-R 11-01-2009 09:35 PM

Welcome, Corcis. I wish you success in your quest.

MetroMPG 11-01-2009 09:54 PM

Hi Corcis -

Welcome to the site! Yes, more than a couple of cheap-o EV's hiding around here for inspiration & information.

We had a lot of fun making the ForkenSwift ... heck, it's still not really finished.

But I have to say that I often find myself thinking: "I don't really need this car!" And it's true! The vast majority of my local trips are by bicycle. And when Ivan has custody of the car, he uses it even less than I do.

The second nickname I have for it is "Electric Umbrella." It's basically a great alternative to the bike when the weather is crappy. Or for the rare occasions when I have to carry something bulky that won't fit easily on my bike's DIY cargo trailer. Or if I'm just feeling lazy.

Once the novelty starts to wear off, you might find yourself wondering if the expense of keeping a "short haul" electric car - energy, repairs, insurance, registration, etc. - are worth it.

Don't mean to discourage you if you're hankering for an interesting mechanical project - just something to keep in mind. Sounds like you're doing OK without a car!

Keep us posted.

Darin