Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > DIY / How-to
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2013, 11:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Busy Homeowner

Alloy Wheels with Pizza Pan Wheel Covers

After deciding that rear wheel skirts were beyond my skill level and resources at the moment, I concluded that the next mpg mod I should make to my 2003 Jetta TDI is wheel covers. The only problem is, I have the OEM alloy wheels, and I don't want to put holes in them. After considering several strategies, I decided that it would be best to use the lug bolts as a fastening point. This thread is a record of my fabrication and fitting process, which is as yet unfinished.

I started with data gathering, since the first thing I needed to do was determine the size of the bolt pattern on my wheels. Since I work as an inspector in a metrology lab, this was easy-peasy. I took a jack and torque wrench to work, and on my break I took off the wheel and brought it into the lab so I could check it using one of our CMMs. This is basically a programmable robot arm that uses ruby-tipped probes to take points on surfaces:

For those who are interested, the face which mates with the wheel hub is flat within 0.0065", the inner diameter that mates with the hub measured about 2.2473" and was within 0.0033 of perfectly round. The axis of the inner diameter was within the error of the machine of being perfectly perpendicular to the mating face.

Not having nominal locations for the lug bolt holes, I couldn't determine a precise true position value for them, but with nominals chosen to represent the median values I measured, none of the holes were out of position by more than 0.0027 diametrically from being evenly spaced at 72 degree intervals. That's damn good! The bolt pattern for the holes ended up being 3.9340" in diameter.