EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   Long Time Lurker (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/long-time-lurker-40109.html)

Gasguzzler 03-29-2022 07:50 AM

Long Time Lurker

Hi all, long time lurker first time poster. I am in the process of downsizing/ trying to save money and going back to college. Part of this process includes getting rid of my gas guzzling v8 pickup truck.
I am a mechanic so I picked up a 2wd 5 speed s10 for $400 with 150,000 miles and a blown up V6 (the ladies grandson tried to do a burnout). I will probably rebuild the V6 as I need the extra torque from time to time for towing and doing truck stuff as well as pulling grades in the mountains.
I considered a diesel swap but I do not have the time and money for that.
Reliability is important and rebuilding the factory motor should net the most reliable setup. Once I get the truck going I will do some baseline mpg tests before beginning modifications.
My goal is to hit 30mpg highway with an unloaded truck cruising 55-60mph.
I consider myself to be a very eco conscious driver. I dont use brakes, I accelerate quite slowly, engine off if sitting at a light, and I keep the rpms consistent based on the speed limit.
I managed to get 18mpg out of a lifted v8 pickup just by driving carefully.
I am very interested in stealthy aerodynamic mods as I like a clean looking vehicle.

freebeard 03-29-2022 12:29 PM

Welcome.

What do you think of the half-tonneau?

Gasguzzler 03-29-2022 12:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by freebeard (Post 665236)
Welcome.

What do you think of the half-tonneau?

I would like to experiment with some sort of bed cover. It currently has a fiberglass campershell. I plan to test mpg with and without the shell before beginning modifications.

freebeard 03-29-2022 01:14 PM

Have you seen this before?

https://ecomodder.com/forum/member-f...02-5-26-32.png