EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   Lurker w/ a few mods already ('97 Corolla 5-spd manual) (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/lurker-w-few-mods-already-97-corolla-5-a-33938.html)

charlesthemonkey 06-10-2016 03:26 PM

Lurker w/ a few mods already ('97 Corolla 5-spd manual)

Hi all,

I've been lurking the ecomodder site for a while. Been trying to get the mileage up on my '97 Corolla, which was a hand-me-down from my dad. He bikes and walks to work, so the thing only has 97k miles on it at this point.

I've been driving it for a few years, mostly between my home and university, which is a 900 mile drive. This summer, however, I have an internship where I'll be driving a lot for the commute, unfortunately. This opens a lot of time for experimenting with mods, however, so it's not all bad.

At one point, I had rear wheel skirts, but after doing one of the mentioned 900 mile trips, I found no gain in mpg and removed them. I'll probably revisit the idea with some better fabrication and see if I can't improve on my fuel efficiency.

Anyway, just wanted to say hi and thanks for having this great community!

Daox 06-10-2016 04:34 PM

Welcome to the site. Looks like you're doing pretty good already.

redneck 06-10-2016 05:08 PM

First mod should be instrumentation. ;)

Otherwise it is difficult to know what works and what doesn't.

Welcome aboard...

:)

>

charlesthemonkey 06-10-2016 06:09 PM

I've been using fill-ups to gauge mpg's. That's been doing fine for me for a while. I'd like to get one of those obd2 transmitters, but I'm not sure if my car will transmit much useful info over it. I haven't had a check engine light even with some major problems with my car, so I can only assume that the obd2 system isn't working as it should...

In any case, I won't know until I try.

California98Civic 06-10-2016 08:37 PM

Quote: