EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   Mechanical newbie hurr. (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/mechanical-newbie-hurr-16679.html)

QuantumBunnii 04-01-2011 06:19 PM

Mechanical newbie hurr.

Heii,
I'm new to the Ecomodder forums, and albeit I'm practically dumb when it comes to cars, I yield a particular inclination towards mechanical endeavors-- especially when it saves MPG. As of now, I have a 2001 Automatic Kia Rio (huge mistake) and am trying to sell it for a 1995 or 1997 Honda Civic (according to fueleconomy.gov, they get the best MPG). I've heard many people advocate a manual car, boasting how they "go faster and get better MPG." I'm not exactly sure why this would be so, but I'm consequently attempting to get a manual car. Are there any threads accentuating the basics of cars, particularly manual? As previously stated, I've limited knowledge of cars or anything having to do with cars. I'd like to know what, exactly, I need to look for in a car when I test drive it, or when I'm considering a purchase (is Vtech a bad thing? I see lots of those). But I guess this is a while away in any case, since I don't even know how to drive manual.
In any case, I hope that I can learn what needs to be learned so I may become an active practitioner in the forums.
Thanks for listening. :3 (They should add a cat-face in the smiley section-->)
:thumbup:

cfg83 04-01-2011 07:16 PM

QuantumBunnii

Welcome to EM! If you look in the Garage on this forum you can search for high MPG cars. The manual transmission cars give you more control over MPG because you can pick the higher gears. Automatic trannys on new cars are better than they were, and paddle-shifters also get you closer to manual tranny performance.

Here is a http://ecomodder.com/forum/member-cf...2475-hammy.gif and a http://ecomodder.com/forum/member-cf...2472-bunny.gif for you to use. You can find them here :