Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2018, 09:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

digglesauce's '97 Del Sol Si Build :)

Hello modders! Long time lurker, first time poster. I figure I would jump right in and start a build thread. I never really thought I would be going into this kind of modding but I guess we all evolve. I’ve been modding vehicles for horsepower for the last 12 years or so but never for gas mileage. I had a 1997 Civic HX growing up but the boy racer thought it would be a good idea to make it fast. Hindsight being what it is, I should have started there with ecomodding. Either way, here’s the story behind this car.

It was my brother-in-law’s car before I got ahold of it and it was in rough shape. There was a front triangle window missing, the hole covered in duct tape. There was duct tape holding the front right headlight on. The drivers inside door handle was missing. The exhaust had rusted the cat pipe completely apart. The blower motor squealed from all the water intrusion common in these cars. Rough stuff.
I first saw it when I did a tune up for him including plugs, wires, cap, rotor, oil. His parents bought him a new set of tires around the same time. Less than 500 miles later, he buys a new car and I buy the Del Sol off him for $500. Knowing that I just did $200 worth of work and there was $300 of new tire on the thing, I couldn’t pass it up.