EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Aerodynamics (https://ecomodder.com/forum/aerodynamics.html)
-   -   Needed: CFD analysis on a SolidWorks assembly drawing (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/needed-cfd-analysis-solidworks-assembly-drawing-7504.html)

Blue Bomber Man 03-17-2009 10:11 AM

Needed: CFD analysis on a SolidWorks assembly drawing

Unfortunately I have no way to perform a CFD on my assembly since I don't have access to FloWorks (the part of Solidworks that does CFD). So I am hoping to either find some free software that can perform the CFD from my .sldasm file or someone to perform the CFD for me to determine my project's Cd.

If you want to see screenshots of the project visit the Fossil Free forum for the post that involves my custom EV build or visit the blog in my signature.

Thanks!

big_dave 03-17-2009 04:59 PM

I've got solidworks and floworks, I'll do the calculations if you want.

I should add I am a beginner, so if you let me know exactly what you need doing I'll be happy to give it a go.

Blue Bomber Man 03-17-2009 05:10 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Awesome Dave!

I still need to clean things up and finish the rear of the vehicle. I also want to figure out how I can direct air around the wheels efficiently, so probably in a week I will try and hit you up on that offer and I'll send you a zip file of the whole assembly.

Here's some eye candy from PhotoWorks.

http://ecomodder.com/forum/attachmen...1&d=1237324023

I just started playing with those tools today so I'm pretty limited on what I've been able to do with that so far. It takes my computer about 4-5 images to render the images in Photoworks, but I think they will come out really nice once I learn all the in's and out's of that program.

big_dave 03-17-2009 05:20 PM

My friend made a fairly basic model of his Polo and it takes about an hour to do the calculations in FloWorks, and that's on my workstation (8 x 2.83Ghz).