EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   New Canadian Hypermiler (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/new-canadian-hypermiler-30629.html)

BenArcher006 12-04-2014 10:54 PM

New Canadian Hypermiler

Hi everyone,

My name is Ben and Im from Canada!

Im new to hypermiling and I must say that its pretty darn brilliant!

My car is a Saturn Vue 2006 with a 2.2L 4cyl ecotec engine matched to a 5 speed manual transmission. Technically it is supposed to get 20mpg city, 23mpg combined and 27mpg highway.

Since I owned the truck, I get about 23.60 mpg combined (80% city 20% highway).

Recently I did a tune up (spark plugs, air filter, new o2 sensor, ecu reflash, new battery) and last week I had the car aligned since it was waaaay off (burned through both front tires).

Last night I just bought a Vacuum pressure gauge and plan on getting an UltraGauge by Xmas so I can start "driving with load". I P&G engine idling as much as I can in town coming to a stop sign or a red light (which aren't synced where I live GRRRR).

So thats about it, now I need to clean my truck from all non necessary items I got in the trunk, I will get my tire pressure up a bit maybe 40-45 psi. I think its all I can possibly do to max my mpg. Can't wait to install both my gauges.

See y'all around!

Ben A.

gone-ot 12-05-2014 12:13 AM

Having a history of "before" MPG will make it much easier for you to see and understand improvements in "after" MPG.

MetroMPG 12-05-2014 09:50 AM

Welcome, Ben!

What city are you in (if you don't mind me asking)?

Winter is a tough time to get great numbers, but it's a good time for honing your skills to watch things take off in 3 or 4 months. Glad to hear you got the manual trans; that gives you so many more options.

DEFINITELY get yourself a gauge. It makes the game much more rewarding. Considering any other vehicle mods? Partial grille block is a good idea to start.