EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   EcoModding Central (https://ecomodder.com/forum/ecomodding-central.html)
-   -   New, cheap, high mpg cars? (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/new-cheap-high-mpg-cars-9473.html)

robots4joey 07-31-2009 10:10 AM

New, cheap, high mpg cars?

Hello everyone!
I’m a college student (1 year left), with a really junky dodge minivan that hardly runs (free vehicle from my parents…) that qualifies for the cash-for–clunkers thing… so I’m looking for a new car (only because it has to be new…) that has really good gas mileage (over 30mpg stock for sure!), is reliable, and cheap to do repairs on (I do all my own car repairs). I really wanted a used Honda or Toyota… But even with the $4500 from the cash-for-clunkers deal, they still aren’t in my price range. Oh- my price range <after the $4500 is taken off> is preferably under $10K- I was shooting for $6-8K actually, but I could be swayed…

I’d really appreciate recommendations from this forum- I am a hypermiler myself, I’ve improved my fuel economy by 23% from when I first started driving my current vehicle- all from tips I received here!

Thanks!

SVOboy 07-31-2009 10:40 AM

I just put this up on the blog: 5 Cash for Clunkers Values on which to Spend your $4,500 | Hypermiling, Fuel Economy, and EcoModding News - EcoModder.com

However, you should note there's a rumour from the government that cash for clunkers will be suspended tonight at midnight because they've run out of money.

KJSatz 07-31-2009 12:53 PM

Yaris or Fit.

jamesqf 07-31-2009 12:56 PM

Unfortunately, there just aren't any new cars that get really good gas mileage. (Except for the Tesla, of course, but that's a bit out of the price range you're looking at.) For something in your price range, a used Honda Insight or CRX would get acceptable mpg, and be fairly easy to do repairs on - not that they're often needed.

chuckm 07-31-2009 01:26 PM