Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-09-2011, 01:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Red face Noob.

Hello!
I'm Alicia and I'm totally new to any of this. I'm here probably like many who are terrified of the cost of fuel. I drive a stock 2003 Pontiac Vibe which I chose for the amount of versatility per square mpg. I also have a 5 speed S-dime which I feel is a prime candidate for mega mpg.
I'm looking to get the most mpg without going too crazy on the Vibe as its my daily driver and I have different mod plans for it. The pickup is a different story.

Looking forward to reading participating and learning!

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 04-09-2011, 02:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

The SCUD - '15 Fiat Scudo L2
Welcome to ecomodder .

As always, the best start is to read the list of hypermiling tricks :
100+ Hypermiling / ecodriving tips & tactics for better mpg - EcoModder.com

and read up a bit about them in the appropriate forum.
Take a few of the tricks you feel comfortable with, and try them out on the street. When they've become a new habit, revisit the list and pick up a few more tricks.
This is very much a hands-on forum

You've already done trick
6) Join a fuel economy forum

Another tip is to start a fuel / modifications log and maintain it rigorously.

If you have a manual transmission car, coasting (even with the engine on) is something you should really try out.

Then there's the list of possible modifications to be done to the car
65+ Vehicle modifications for better fuel economy - EcoModder.com

The most common mods are increasing the tyre pressure, and fitting a grille block (can be done from the inside if you want to keep a clean look) and air dam.

The mods done range from mild, to wild - just search for AeroCivic