Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-30-2011, 04:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Ahoy hoy! New member here with 2000 Sunfire

HI! I'VE BEEN READING ABOUT ECOMMODDING AND AERODINAMICS FOR OVER SIX WEEKS NOW AND I HAD TO JOIN THE FORUM BECAUSE YOUR ALL DOING IT WRONG AND I WANTED TO COME IN HERE AND SHOW YOU HOW TO GET AT LEAST 15MPG OVER WHAT YOUR GETTING NOW NO MATTER WHAT. HAHA, SIMPLE GUYS HOW COULD YOU NOT SEE YOUR DOING IT WRONG!!1!!one

Ahem. Just kidding. I'm a noob but not a total lemon.

I'm new to the forum here and I'm going to be starting a thread or threads sometime soon but I figured I'd bite the bullet and get registration out the way while I'm still gathering info and formulating a plan.

I have a 2000 Pontiac Sunfire 2 door 2.2 OHV, 5spd and I usually get about 32mpg on the highway. I've been wanting a VW TDI for the last couple of years for utility, non-krapboxness and economy but due to the other economy a TDi isn't in the cards for a year or so at least. Instead I've set myself a goal of making my Sunfire into a 40mpg (highway) car and getting the best overall mileage I can. Most of the time.

Mods planned or being considered include:

Grill block, streamlining the front end.
This is actually pretty easy for me, the ~1999 cars had a different front bumper and facia that basically had a factory grill block, or no openings where the later cars have them above the bumper. The lower skirt of the bumper cover also doesn't have a few lumps at the corners that the 2000+ covers do.

Lower airdam, probably using lawn edging from a box store.

Headlight blending.