EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed (https://ecomodder.com/forum/hypermiling-ecodrivers-ed.html)
-   -   New to hypermiling (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/new-hypermiling-23064.html)

breetel03 08-25-2012 09:27 PM

New to hypermiling

Hello, I just got into hypermiling. I drive a 1985 automatic 4 door hatchback Toyota Tercel, and I would just like some tips about hypermiling with a automatic, Hypermiling with this car, things I can do to the car to help it with gas. Basically I'm a complete noob and need to know anything and everything that can help. I have read through the 109 hypermiling / ecodriving tips. Oh and whats better windows down ac off or windows up ac on? If AC is on resurculation or flow through?

Thank you!

GRU 08-25-2012 10:24 PM

at highway speeds most people say it's better to keep the windows up and cycle the a/c on and off as needed. If the outside air is cool i like to crack the window open a little and not run the a/c. in the city i use the a/c only when slowing down or when in neutral, always off when accelerating.

California98Civic 08-26-2012 12:19 AM

Welcome! Study the lists of hypermiling tips and mods at the top of this page. None of us will be able to say it better. But here's my list of free and easy first favorites: pump up tires, remove excess weight inside car, slow down your cruise speed on highways to speed limit or somewhat below, shut the car off at lights or stops where you would need to idle for more than 30 seconds. Start a fuel log here at EM; it may help motivate you and it'll help track your progress/challenges and such.