EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   EcoModding Central (https://ecomodder.com/forum/ecomodding-central.html)
-   -   New Invention. Electric assist. Comments? (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/new-invention-electric-assist-comments-4205.html)

Arminius 07-31-2008 07:25 AM

New Invention. Electric assist. Comments?

What do you guys/gals think about the invention shown in the link below?

Fuelpup Table of Contents Page

bikin' Ed 07-31-2008 08:35 AM

Sounds Good

It sounds like a good idea to me, but there sure isn't a lot of detail offered on the site. That part scares me. I also question the belt drive bing enough to motivate my 4000 lb. sled reliably.

Daox 07-31-2008 08:57 AM

I'm no EV expert by far, but it looks like those motors are way too small to handle the necessary current to move even a smaller vehicle let alone a Jeep. Several members have considered similar devices mounted various ways. The idea is sound, but that product doesn't look good IMO.

trikkonceptz 07-31-2008 11:05 AM

I don't think this system is intended to push a vehicle on its own, simply to provide assistance to the gas motor while in motion. I see no reason why this wouldn't work in fact, since I do not see any kind of controller included it is probably regulated to provide X number of rpm's giving a small boost in any gear, for us possibly a better boost when EOCing or neutral coasting.

Wish I had $1500 of disposable income to give it a try, if for nothing else to improve on it if it falls short.

Bad News; It seems to be a solution for RWD vehicles only as it is part of the drive shaft assembly.

tjts1 07-31-2008 11:14 AM

LOL
2 starter motors with a belt around the drive shaft. I could whip up a setup like that for $100 including the machine work. It doesn't mean you're going to save any gas.

dremd 07-31-2008 11:17 AM

I like the Setup, I'm thinking that those are beefed up starter motrs, or Wheelchar motors . . . .