EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   New and looking for a car!!! (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/new-looking-car-25479.html)

Lukeb22 04-06-2013 02:37 PM

New and looking for a car!!!

I'm new to the hypermiling and currently have a 02 vw gti. I am currently in the process of selling it and want to start a hypermiling project.

My question is, What car do some of you suggest as a good car to start with?
I have been looking at crx hf models and some civics. I don't want to spend more than $2500 on a starter car. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

MetroMPG 04-06-2013 05:03 PM

If you can find a CRX HF in your budget, go for it! There are more than a few active members around here with them getting really good mileage.

Civic VX is a great highway cruiser (light load lean burn is its secret MPG weapon).

Avoid the sportiest Civics as they have the shortest gearing (not good for highway MPG).

Welcome to the forum.

Flakbadger 04-06-2013 05:08 PM

Welcome!

Metro's got great suggestions, but don't forget about Saturns. Pretty cheap and easy to repair.

War_Wagon 04-06-2013 08:01 PM

Rust free Arizona eh? Your selection of old Hondas makes me jealous. Flak has a good point too, Saturns are dirt cheap, easy to work on, parts are cheap, and they are decent to drive. Just like old Hondas lol. Welcome to the site. :snail:

JRMichler 04-07-2013 09:33 PM

Another cheapo car to consider is the Chevrolet Aveo. Based on my recent experience driving one, I would expect MPG in the low 40's in stock form with an automatic transmission, and low to mid 50's with a stick and some low cost mods.

Lukeb22 04-11-2013 12:14 AM