Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2016, 01:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

New member here. Question for the Civic guys

Hello everyone!

I am new to the Ecomodder forums. My current daily drive is a Volvo 940 Turbo. It's a great car but with really poor fuel economy (20 MPG EPA). I'm an amateur mechanic and I want to buy a broken down Civic and restore it for my next daily driver (33-38 MPG EPA).

I have questions about the technical side of the Civic D15 engines, specifically the D15B7 and D15B8. I'd love to read more but the only good source I found was the "D15B article" on vtec.net. Is the fuel economy of the 8 valve engine worth the trade-off of 22HP? How difficult would it be to find a D15Z1 lean burn engine cheap ($300)?

Thanks for the info!

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 11-07-2016, 01:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice

24 Grom - '24 Honda Grom
90 day: 120.17 mpg (US)
Quote:
Originally Posted by janas19 View Post
Hello everyone!

I am new to the Ecomodder forums. My current daily drive is a Volvo 940 Turbo. It's a great car but with really poor fuel economy (20 MPG EPA). I'm an amateur mechanic and I want to buy a broken down Civic and restore it for my next daily driver (33-38 MPG EPA).

I have questions about the technical side of the Civic D15 engines, specifically the D15B7 and D15B8. I'd love to read more but the only good source I found was the "D15B article" on vtec.net. Is the fuel economy of the 8 valve engine worth the trade-off of 22HP? How difficult would it be to find a D15Z1 lean burn engine cheap ($300)?

Thanks for the info!