EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Aerodynamics (https://ecomodder.com/forum/aerodynamics.html)
-   -   New Project - 1993 Mirage - Need assistance. (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/new-project-1993-mirage-need-assistance-12654.html)

nayeliesuncle 03-18-2010 03:17 PM

New Project - 1993 Mirage - Need assistance.

Hello,

I'm new to the forum and to ecomodder. I have a new project and need some assistance with the math side of things (don't we all?).

The car is a 1993 Mitsubishi Mirage ES 1.5L automatic. Currently get a calculated real world 28 MPG with me driving normally (up to 70 MPH). I do a lot of city driving, and my commute is less than 50 miles a week.

My goal is to beat a Toyota Prius. Will modify anything to reach the goal. I'm a licensed mechanic, so mods are not a problem for me.

I have a picture with what I want to do, bit it won't let me upload it.

I specifically need assistance with calculating the .cd and all of that technical stuff.

Thank you for your interest.

Daox 03-18-2010 03:30 PM

Welcome to the site.

Beating a Prius is definitely possible. I've done it by a fair amount in my Paseo. however, you're going to need either a ton of modification or lots of changes to your driving style to achieve it.

As for the rest, according to our wiki page:

Vehicle Coefficient of Drag List - EcoModder

Your Cd is .32.

Clev 03-18-2010 06:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Daox (Post 166634)
Beating a Prius is definitely possible. I've done it by a fair amount in my Paseo. however, you're going to need either a ton of modification or lots of changes to your driving style to achieve it.

Can you beat it driving-style for driving-style? It would be unfair to compare to a poorly-driven Prius.

nayeliesuncle 03-18-2010 07:41 PM

Thanks for the link with the information for the car.