EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   Newbie from DFW (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/newbie-dfw-24292.html)

Runum 12-12-2012 07:32 PM

Newbie from DFW

Howdy. Newbie from DFW, north Texas area here.
Used to do a lot of street legal drag racing many moons ago. Also owned and operated a chassis shop. Got busy in other business and haven't done anything with cars in about 10 years.

I am a science teacher now and have a little interest in learning about increasing efficiency and looking at alternative fuels/forms of transportation.

I currently own a 2006 PT Cruiser Limited turbo, 2007 Jetta 2.5, 2004 GMC 2500HD(6.0 liter), and 2002 Hyundai Accent.

I can see there is quite a bit of information here so the learning curve is pretty steep. I am currently debating the possibility of building my own hybrid. I probably won't be posting very much until I spend some time reading/learning.

Looking forward to finding out what it is that I don't know.

slowmover 12-12-2012 07:52 PM

As a Dallas native, welcome. Moved away a few years ago and miss some of the techs and shops where I knew I could find good work and great advice.

What has worked well for me is:

1] Combine all trips. The DHS sez 90% of us go to 90% of the same places 90% of the time. I used MAPQUEST "Best Order Routing" to analyze my usual errands. It is one thing to know to go to the farthest place first (via freeway if possible for a long easy warmup), but it is another to find right-turn only routing from thereon (as does FED-EX and UPS). The effort is worth it.