Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2013, 07:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
air
EcoModding Lurker

HX user here

Hey

Just figured I would check in.

I am a college student studying Engineering, and I was a automotive tech through highschool and so far in college to pay for my hobbies.

I have a 96 HX I bought 3 years ago with 180,000 miles on it. I searched specifically for the HX for the lean-burn mode while still having more luxury than the average VX model, plus I think the coupes look much better.

I drive normal speeds (even speed a bit). My other car is a ls1 swapped 240sx nissan that I take to HPDE and timeattack events, and Im sure yall will all choke when I tell you it gets about 6mpg the way I drive it. I did DD that car for a year or so, but the low, loud, no AC lifestyle was getting old as I grew up, and I needed a reliable, cheap DD so I can save money for more go-fast parts for the race car. Enter Rhonda.

I have put about 60k on her so far, as I had a internship in SC where I drove 400mi each way once a week. Rhonda did great throughout this whole deal, getting 40 mpg or so while running 80+ down the highway with the AC blasting.

So far I have added a Ultragauge and Cruise Control, since the HX did not get that as an option. I took the parts from a EX and factory installed them. I grabbed a SI leather wrapped steering wheel since the factory rubber one was kinda grody from the previous owner. I also added sound deadening foam and duramat. I got 2 yards of foam and 4 yards of duramat and added them all throughout the interior and trunk. These made a HUGE difference in the way the car sounds while driving. My car is noticeably quieter than other stock civics.