Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2013, 08:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Oh Deer - '03 Ford Ranger XL
90 day: 33.97 mpg (US)
Engine compression after a re-build?

I posted this question on Ranger forum and wondered what the forum braintrust here thought. I am no mechanic so it may be a silly question.

If you were to re-build a 2.3l Lima and they bored the block (say .030) to get everything back to smooth and round, are the connecting rods in the re-build kit "de-stroked" or slightly shortened to compensate for the increased volume of air being compressed?

And....if they are....could you use the stock connecting rods along with all the other new parts to get any measurable increase in compression? Would it be to any advantage or, if there was any increase, would it be so slight that it really wouldn't matter?

Thanks

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 02-28-2013, 08:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Thanked 2,024 Times in 1,304 Posts
If the block was bored .30 over there should be no need to change the connecting rod length.

regards
Mech
Old 02-28-2013, 08:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

That's why I ask here.

Just out of curiosity....at what point would you have to change the length and would my theoretical idea come into play?
Old 02-28-2013, 09:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Thanked 2,024 Times in 1,304 Posts