EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   General Efficiency Discussion (https://ecomodder.com/forum/general-efficiency-discussion.html)
-   -   overview of CNG options? (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/overview-cng-options-19732.html)

stillsearching 12-09-2011 05:39 AM

overview of CNG options?

Hello, i'm new to ecomodder, and am planning to explore options ranging from the mild to the wild, but I keep coming back to one major issue that I either need to choose yes, or rule out as a definate no before I get much further - CNG fueling.

Could someone that knows more than me (splotchy and sporadic) who has done some research share their insights? :(

Some examples of what I know or have been told so far and some facts of the case:
- the only factory vehicle i've heard of is a Honda GX, there are various approved kits for other vehicles but most are for mid size sedans or light trucks it seems and all of them cost ALOT
- I can't find a clear answer on whether a homebrew CNG kit is legal or not, whether it's state issues or federal laws that apply. Minnesota doesn't have emissions testing that I know of but you cant arbitrarily remove parts is all I know for sure. I would much rather convert my Saturn SL if I could and the price were about the same.
- values of used vehicles I can't find any concrete information on, whether higher or lower than gasoline versions. New they cost alot more. Other than used CNG busses (which are FAR cheaper apparently) I don't know about the demand and prices of sedans. Usually i've only seen pickups and such for sale used for fleet vehicles.
- I would be looking at either used CNG vehicles or some home conversion
- I would strongly strongly prefer a bi-fuel vehicle (option to use gasoline) so I can use it for long trips without being stranded.