EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed (https://ecomodder.com/forum/hypermiling-ecodrivers-ed.html)
-   -   Please Help Civic VX MPG (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/please-help-civic-vx-mpg-13944.html)

robertsvx 07-21-2010 08:45 AM

Please Help Civic VX MPG

Hello,I'm new here and I have a 94 vx. It's 100% stock except vacuum gauge, proper size tires, runs great,clean egr ports,new 02,no check engine light. I am a mechanic & have rebuilt many many honda motors including this one.It is timed perfectly,proper compression,valve lash ect. I got 55mpg 3 times.Once i was going about 55 on a long trip feathering gas.The other 2 times was hwy/city mix shutting engine off and coasting alot,also watching vacuum gauge to keep in lean burn.Nnder normal conditions without shutting engine off, city/hwy is averaging about 43mpg

My question is for all vx owners who get more then 55mpg. What am i doing wrong to not get more then 55mpg?

bestclimb 07-21-2010 12:55 PM

welcome,

I'm not a VX driver but have a DX and am knocking on the door of 55mpg with it.
have you read the 100+ hypermiling tips?

City driving I suspect makes it very hard to keep the thing in lean burn. Breaking early and coasting to give the light time to turn green may help in your city driving.

Have you checked your odometer/speedometer against a GPS (distance) or distance of a known route? If not you may already be much closer.

instantaneous fuel consumption readouts are nice MPGuino is not hard to install.

MetroMPG 07-21-2010 03:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by robertsvx (Post 184866)
normal conditions without shutting engine off, city/hwy is averaging about 43mpg

My question is for all vx owners who get more then 55mpg. What am i doing wrong to not get more then 55mpg?

I think you answered your own question there.