EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed (https://ecomodder.com/forum/hypermiling-ecodrivers-ed.html)
-   -   Pulse & Glide vs maintaining constant speed (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/pulse-glide-vs-maintaining-constant-speed-22986.html)

Mr_cracker 08-20-2012 02:18 AM

Pulse & Glide vs maintaining constant speed

Hello everyone, this is my first post.

I own a 2010 1.8L AT Chevy Cruze.

I'm new to hyper-milling so i wanted to know what would be more efficient?

a) Accelerating to say 60 mph and gliding to 45 or 50 mph without shifting to Neutral (i don't want to wear out the transmission)

OR

b) Maintaining a constant speed of 60 mph

Quezacotl 08-20-2012 03:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr_cracker (Post 322595)
a) Accelerating to say 60 mph and gliding to 45 or 50 mph without shifting to Neutral (i don't want to wear out the transmission)

You dont need to shift to neutral, use clutch fully depressed to run in neutral :)

serialk11r 08-20-2012 04:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Quezacotl (Post 322609)
You dont need to shift to neutral, use clutch fully depressed to run in neutral :)

Good luck pressing the clutch in on an automatic. I hear it's pretty hard.

euromodder 08-20-2012 07:03 AM

Welcome to ecomodder.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr_cracker (Post 322595)
I'm new to hyper-milling so i wanted to know what would be more efficient?
b) Maintaining a constant speed of 60 mph

If you don't want to shift into neutral, the constant speed is most likely better.

That is, if the transmission doesn't have a coasting feature built in.

California98Civic 08-20-2012 07:49 AM