EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   General Efficiency Discussion (https://ecomodder.com/forum/general-efficiency-discussion.html)
-   -   Removing rear seats: legal? (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/removing-rear-seats-legal-27371.html)

Jake940T 10-27-2013 03:21 PM

Removing rear seats: legal?

The other day I had to remove my rear seats to make room for cargo, and they were far heavier than I expected, to the point where my frail body could barely pick them up. I'm considering leaving them out (nobody sits back there anyway), but I've been told it may be illegal. Would you guys know anything about this?

The car is insured and registered as a 5 seater, and I am a New Jersey resident, if that means anything.

War_Wagon 10-27-2013 03:30 PM

Well I know that at the drag strip, if you remove the rear seat in a car with a trunk, then you are supposed to put a metal firewall between the trunk and the passenger compartment. The idea being that in a crash there is at least something to help keep gasoline and debris from getting in. But seeing as most cars today allow you to fold the rear seat down to increase trunk space anyway, I can't see how it would be illegal to remove them? Unless it has something to do with sharp edges being exposed, or to prevent people from trying to use their passenger car to move really heavy loads? I think your best bet would be to contact either the local police or the motor vehicle branch and just ask them what the rules are for your area.

P-hack 10-27-2013 05:09 PM

AFAIK, New Jersey has really strict rules. Like you can fail inspection with aftermarket brake/clutch pedal pads. Would reinstall them before inspection in NJ or if you might get a ticket for them. Check local regs.

Frank Lee 10-27-2013 05:18 PM

"The Land Of The Free And The Home Of The Brave"

ksa8907 10-27-2013 10:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Frank Lee (Post 397157)

Unfortunately, "Once upon a time..."