EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed (https://ecomodder.com/forum/hypermiling-ecodrivers-ed.html)
-   -   Route conundrum... (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/route-conundrum-24626.html)

razor02097 01-14-2013 10:19 AM

Route conundrum...

I'm new to eco driving... I hope someone can advise me. I drive pretty much the same route every day. There are many ways I can take to bypass traffic but only 2 ways I can get home from the freeway. One route is longer but doesn't have any traffic lights or hills. The other route is shorter has 4 extra lights (which are horridly timed!), a slight uphill grade and a rather large hill.

It might be an easy question but the shorter route is actually 3.5 miles shorter...If I get stuck at every light (which happens about 50% of the time) both routes take about the same time to complete. I'm hoping there is a way to take this in to account. I don't have anything to tell me instant MPG.

My question is how can I figure out if taking the long way is actually worth it or not?

Gealii 01-14-2013 10:34 AM

I just did both routes and calculated FE at the end of each tank. I wish for me it was better to go to the highway, but the lower FE i get in city driving compared to Highway does not offset the difference of the actual miles.
The 2 ways for you would be to do it this way or hook up an MPGuino to your car to get the trip mpgs

razor02097 01-14-2013 11:19 AM

Thanks for the reply :)

I was hoping to avoid driving the route for a full tank because of the error factor. I would have to drive the new route for several tanks to get the average which could take a long time and potentially waste fuel if it isn't "worth it" :(