EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Instrumentation (https://ecomodder.com/forum/instrumentation.html)
-   -   ScanGauge: How much calibration required on each tank? (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/scangauge-how-much-calibration-required-each-tank-27158.html)

cbaber 10-01-2013 04:41 PM

ScanGauge: How much calibration required on each tank?

I've been using my ScanGauge for a couple months now. After the initial calibration it has proved to be pretty accurate. My main complaint is the deviation from one tank to the next. It can be a pretty large difference. For example, one tank says I got 52 MPG but the gas pump says it was 48. I follow the procedure in the manual and offset the fuel usage to "calibrate" the ScanGauge. The next tank it might indicate 46 MPG, but according to the pump I got 50. According to the manual I should calibrate it every fill, so thats what I have been doing.

So I am just curious if this is common, and do you guys just deal with it? I've been thinking about just leaving the tank-to-tank calibration alone. Obviously making minor adjustments doesn't help the accuracy. It frustrates me because I think I'm getting 50 MPG but its only 46 or something. Maybe I should just leave it alone and not worry about it?

Daox 10-01-2013 04:45 PM

To get it to average out a little better you can calibrate it over 3 tanks or so. After that I'd just leave it. If its off a little its off a little. All the OEM guages are off a little (sometimes a lot). Its not an exact figure, just a real close guess.

Occasionally6 10-01-2013 06:17 PM

Yes, average it out. The more tanks you average it over the better. Record the % correction required each time and average those.

gone-ot 10-01-2013 06:35 PM