EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Instrumentation (https://ecomodder.com/forum/instrumentation.html)
-   -   SGII what 4 parameters do you monitor most? (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/sgii-what-4-parameters-do-you-monitor-most-2459.html)

SpeedR 05-20-2008 08:59 PM

SGII what 4 parameters do you monitor most?

So I'm new to the whole ecomodding scene and have been having a blast with my SGII(need to watch the road more).

I was just curious what parameters are monitoring most..

For me its typically Engine Load, Gallons per Hour, Miles per Gallon and throttle position. In the case of having rad blocks installed substitute GPH for coolant temp.

Typically, I feel these three give me the best feedback on my driving style.

What about you?

cfg83 05-20-2008 11:13 PM

SpeedR -

Welcome to EM! I use these 90% of the time :

TPS FWT
MPG IAT

I use TPS to monitor how light I am on the accelerator pedal, which translates to seeing my instant MPG go up.

I have FWT and IAT to monitor my HAI (Hot Air Intake) performance. I already have the Coolant level on my instrument cluster, but I like to see the actual coolant temp because I use a manual fan radiator switch to lower the coolant temp when I am stuck in a traffic jam.

CarloSW2

taco 06-07-2008 02:54 AM

wtemp, gph, instant mpg, and either tps or air temp

Jigsaw 06-14-2008 12:04 AM

MPH MPG
TPS RPM

I view these because they are what I can directly control.
Finding the "sweet spot" for any given speed or condition for optimum MPG (say with the ac on) would be impossible without the ScanGauge, it simply rocks!
:turtle:

Sandy 06-16-2008 05:13 PM

LOD TPS
MPG FWT

I have a heads up mph and tach,
so I didn't need them
and the FWT is to monitor the temp because of the grill blocking.

I mainly use the TPS to keep the light and steady foot.
The LOD lets me know if the engine is straining and I should let up on the gas.