EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   EcoModding Central (https://ecomodder.com/forum/ecomodding-central.html)
-   -   Shopping tips for a '96-'00 Civic? (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/shopping-tips-96-00-civic-4860.html)

brucepick 08-31-2008 09:10 AM

Shopping tips for a '96-'00 Civic?

I'll be shopping for a Civic in 2nd half of September. Probably '96-2000 vintage in order to support a Scan Gauge.

Edit:
Definitely a 5-speed.
HX is only available as coupe, SFAIK.
I'm leaning towards coupe anyway for its better aero.
End Edit.

I'm pretty much settled on getting an HX for its MPG but could get a Del Sol if I find one I like.

What should I look for when inspecting one of these? I'm new to Civics. I've done lots of the work on our several Volvos so I'm no stranger to inspecting a car.

If the seller can't say when the timing belt was last changed should I try to look at it? Or just assume it has to be done now?

I drive 52 mi. each way to work, mostly highway. Currently car pooling 4 days/week, going solo on Fridays. When car pooling I can't drive 50-55, 60-70 is more usual.

jdub 08-31-2008 09:28 AM

Here are my personal suggestions on a few things to keep in mind when shopping for a used car from a 3rd party:

1.) given the current state of fuel prices and popularity of these older, highly fuel efficient cars, there has been a resurgence in demand which has driven prices up significantly, even for less than reliable versions of the cars. This may mean that at thier current price point you could get into one of the newer civics which will be more reliable and have readily available repair parts for cheaper (dealerships only supply repair parts for 10 years after a vehicle is released, after that repair part availability falls solely on the aftermarket). So, don't just consider the initial cost of the vehicle, think about what its going to cost to service it over its useful life as well.