EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Instrumentation (https://ecomodder.com/forum/instrumentation.html)
-   -   Speedo calibration for bigger tires! (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/speedo-calibration-bigger-tires-21202.html)

kingsway 03-29-2012 07:50 AM

Speedo calibration for bigger tires!

Thought I'd just share the following link which I just stumbled upon...

Universal Speedometer Signal Interface

It's not especially cheap - and even worse for me to pay both shipping to the UK and duty when it arrives - but it is something that would make me much more likely to consider fitting bigger tires for FE purposes!

But then - maybe this can be corrected from within VCDS/VagCom for us VW diesel owners???

1carnut 03-29-2012 10:25 AM

Here is a free option... Tire Size Calculator - Compare Tire Sizes

kingsway 03-29-2012 12:06 PM

Yup - there are plenty of tire size calculators around - but I am a driving instructor. I need to have my pupils comply with the law - especially when they are taking their driving test in my car!

My little automatic has desperately 'short' gears, and it would be great to fit bigger tires... but I need an accurate speedo. As it happens, my automatic has an old fashioned ( non electronic ) speedo, so it would be a matter of making measurements and then having the speedo re-calibrated by a company that does such work.

But a gadget such as is available from the link, would allow you to try different size tires, and correct the speedo calibration yourself, when ever you want... Very handy!

D.O.G. 03-29-2012 03:14 PM

... Or if you're handy with a soldering iron, you could try this.

Speedo Corrector MkII Kit "Kit Back Catalogue" - Jaycar Electronics

gone-ot 03-29-2012 06:26 PM

Back in the late 1990's, Andy Granatelli (of Studebaker and STP fame) sold something similar for GM cars, an "electronic" speedometer corrector module that plugged 'in-line' between the OEM sensor and the dashboard/ECM.