Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2013, 05:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Thirsty Bitch - '94 Honda Prelude S
90 day: 26.57 mpg (US)

Ma'ma Bears - '09 Nissan Altima 2.5 S
90 day: 24.35 mpg (US)

EcoBitch - '97 Honda Civic HX
90 day: 34.2 mpg (US)
Speed Racer trying to become Fuel Saver . . .

Alright so I currently drive a '94 Honda Prelude Si. I don't know how well people on this page understand automobiles on a mechanical stand point but I am a mechanic and a performance enthusiasts. I've always worried about how to go faster and blah blah but now I drive 100+ miles a day and would like to extend my fuel range. Currently I get 350-380 to a tank of gas. Mostly just 350 though. I don't understand what happens during the times I manage 380 to make that possible. Well for those interested here are my automotive specs currently.

1994 Honda Prelude Si

Stock motor has been changed out for S model Prelude motor F22a1. Allows me to run 87 octane fuel instead of 93 and is the same motor as found in 90-93 DX Accords so is known for be fairly fuel efficient. Problem is the shorter gear trans the car comes with keeps me from peaking the usual 30-35 mpg FE that I seen some Accord guys say they have gotten.

Wheels have been changed from 15 to 16 inch but I plan to go back to 15 inch to save weight and change the tire size to a 195/60r15. Factory size is a 205/55r15 but I'm hoping the taller tire with less width would help with acceleration and in turn reduce fuel consumption.

Well for now that's all I got so here I am and there is some starter info on my background. Hope to learn a lot here. Good day!

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 12-19-2013, 07:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lots of Questions

Motor-Rolla - '01 Toyota Corolla LE
Team Toyota
90 day: 28.3 mpg (US)

Gaia - '99 Toyota 4Runner SR5 Highlander
90 day: 19.78 mpg (US)