EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed (https://ecomodder.com/forum/hypermiling-ecodrivers-ed.html)
-   -   Trouble with "Pulse and Glide" (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/trouble-pulse-glide-20267.html)

Scorched 01-25-2012 10:07 PM

Trouble with "Pulse and Glide"

Hello everyone,

This is my first post and I am relatively new to hypermiling. In order to achieve the most efficiency from my vehicle I try to employ as many techniques as I can.

Two techniques which I would really like to use are "pulse and glide" as well as turning off my engine at stoplights, although, I am having some difficulty.

I drive a 2004 Saturn Ion1 with CVT. Here are the issues I am having with these techniques:

1. When starting my engine it will rev to ~2,500 RPM. I have to wait a moment for it to drop down to idle before I can begin moving. This is frustrating not only because it takes too long and I do not wish to hold up traffic but also because it seems that fuel is being wasted on startup.

2. After shutting the engine OFF I have no problem gliding for a while but it seems I cannot restart it until the vehicle is STOPPED and in PARK.

So my questions are: Is there a way to sefely restart the engine while the vehicle is still in motion? Possibly a way to rig a quick start up? Also, is there a way to avoid the initial "rev" when starting the engine up?

Thanks for the input!

user removed 01-25-2012 10:13 PM

Not a good idea to coast with the engine off with a CVT, you could seriously damage the transmission. Coast in neutral with the engine running. The transmission needs hydraulic pressure to work properly, even in neutral. You could be spending big bucks on a repair or replacement transmission, say $5000.