Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-16-2010, 06:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

how to instant mpg from elm interface free

I have been racking my brain trying to solve this puzzle.

I have a laptop, and i have an elm interface. I am not a computer programmer. I have tried several free software programs, and none of them offer "instant mpg" or gph.

If i pay $70-$100 for a fancy program, this information is available. However, i am too cheap to spend that kind of coin on this sort of project.

Obd ii data logger will export to ms excel, but i'm not sure if it will export live data...and if it does, i don't understand how to have the data show up in excel. I could do the calculation using the maf and the vss in excel if i could figure out how to get the data there.

Anybody have access to a free program that will show instant mpg or gph using my elm interface? or a program that is free that will allow excel to do the calculations?

This cannot be nearly this difficult!

thanks

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 06-16-2010, 07:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Pokémoderator

1999 Saturn SW2 - '99 Saturn SW2 Wagon
Team Saturn
90 day: 40.49 mpg (US)
lapeer20m -

I have this setup, but I don't use it for day-to-day stuff :

http://ecomodder.com/forum/showthrea...ging-1781.html

I was trying to figure out an MPG algorithm too, but I gave up. I do think I could infer MPG by cross-referencing the LOD and RPM OBD-II parameters to a BSFC chart for my engine, but I haven't gotten around to it.

CarloSW2

What's your EPA MPG? Go Here and find out!
American Solar Energy Society
Old 06-16-2010, 08:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

i read your thread before i started this one. Doesn't really solve the issue of an instant mpg readout using my laptop elm interface and freeware
Old 06-16-2010, 11:17 PM   #4 (permalink)