Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-04-2011, 01:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

fibreglass smooth wheels

Ok im having real trouble smoothing my wheels. At the moment I have simply taped up the gaps but this needs to come soon ans wont last.

I was wondering if anybody has used fibreglass over a snap on hub cap to smooth it out.

edited to add: I have now found the t shirt and resin mod (I like this idea as I have never used fibreglass mat before and feel I may get a better finish).

My only other choice is do I use my snap on caps or the 4 hole bolted caps (more secure) that were originally on the car. If I used the 4 hole then I think I would cut out 4 circles for the bolts and grommit them up to keep the smooth but allow a wrench in.

Last edited by momorris; 07-04-2011 at 02:21 PM..
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 07-04-2011, 03:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
OCD Master EcoModder

Outasight - '00 Honda Insight
Team Honda
Gen-1 Insights
90 day: 54.18 mpg (US)
Good to "see" you here, momorris. What vehicle are these wheel covers going on? That info might get you some more specific tips / pointers here.

Smooth wheel covers are definitely a good project, judging from the gains others have reported. I'm partially done on mine now. I can't imagine taking the time to do them in fiberglass but who am I to say it's not worthwhile?

Most guys seem to have used plastic serving plates or stamped metal pizza pie pans. I'm using perforated aluminum sheet with a stiffener on the back side, but I can definitely tell you that method is not quick.

If you go to the project library:
EcoModder Project Library - EcoModder.com