EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   The Lounge (https://ecomodder.com/forum/lounge.html)
-   -   What's in a UserName? (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/whats-username-4827.html)

Tango Charlie 08-29-2008 03:30 PM

What's in a UserName?

Some of your user names aren't too wild.
MetroMPG
MazdaMatt
bennelson

Some I think just have to have an interesting explanation.
lunarhighway
basjoos
Daox

While others just mystify me.
steensn
groar
cfg83
i_am_socket
tasdrouille
millenniumtree

By nature I'm very curious (okay, nosy) and was wondering who would like to bare their souls and tell us the meaning, if any, behind their handles.
I'll go first. My name is Terry Chupp, so my initials are T.D.C. I thought about going with 'Top Dead Center', but I've been using that on various websites for awhile. Time for something new. My background is aviation, and we used the phonetic, or radio, alphabet quite often. Alpha, Bravo, Charlie, Delta, Echo, Foxtrot, etc. etc. etc. So when you say 'T.C.' phonetically, it's 'Tango Charlie'

There. Your turn. :)

Tony Raine 08-29-2008 03:47 PM

mines pretty easy. my name is Anthony Raine (pronounced "rain") Turturro.

when i first got into internet stuff in middle school, our teachers told us to never use our last name for an email address. they were pretty rabid about it, actually. not really sure why. i guess since the 'net was young and most people didn't really understand it. so that, added to the fact most people call me Tony, i decided on Tony Raine. then it just stuck.

plus it takes a lot less time to type than Anthony Turturro.

cfg83 08-29-2008 03:47 PM

Tango Charlie -

cfg are my initials. They are also (conveniently) a file extension standing for configuration on lots of computer systems, especially Windows. Soooooooo, I get to say I am part of most computer systems today.