EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   EcoModding Central (https://ecomodder.com/forum/ecomodding-central.html)
-   -   Wheels - Large or Small Diameter? Width? (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/wheels-large-small-diameter-width-2035.html)

CorollaMaster 04-27-2008 03:51 PM

Wheels - Large or Small Diameter? Width?

Hey all,

I'm new to this, but I was wondering what is better:

Rims
- Larger diameters or smaller diameters?
- Larger or smaller tire widths?

My first guess is that a larger rim with smaller tires and smaller width would be best for rotational inertia of the wheels. But then again are you losing more energy trying to get the larger diameter accelerating in the first place? :confused:

I was also wondering if anyone knew of a company that makes good light weight rims that might make a difference? or is it better to go with the run of the mill black and some flat hub caps? :cool:

I'm also considering wheel skirts. My friend works in autobody and is willing to help me out so that they look somewhat professional. One step at a time I guess. Thanks in advance for the help!

toomuch 04-27-2008 04:31 PM

By better, I assume you mean more efficient. The smaller the width of the contact patch (tire), the more efficient.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rolling_friction
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Low-rol...sistance_tires
http://www.treehugger.com/files/2005...olling_res.php

When I had 175 MM contact patches at each corner, I had better average fuel economy than my current 185 MM width tires. (I do a lot of highway driving)

My technical knowledge regarding about diameter not impressive, but big tires take more energy to get moving. Smaller tires take less. Think of those little go kart tires. Easy to get them moving, but you are more limited in speed and are more dependent upon changing gears.