EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Aerodynamics (https://ecomodder.com/forum/aerodynamics.html)
-   -   Yaris mods (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/yaris-mods-31105.html)

spookybathtub 01-31-2015 09:56 PM

Yaris mods

I'm new to this eco-modder thing. I drive a Toyota Yaris hatchback, and I'm interested in maximizing FE without looking ugly. This is what I have planned:

heater bypass valve
belly pan
smooth hubcaps
block fog light cups
block radiator vents
kamm tail
transmission swap 5-spd to 6-spd (maybe not affordable)
rear wheel skirts

I'm going to document my progress in this thread, unless a mod suggest breaking it up into multiple threads... I don't know the etiquette here.

The car has 175K miles, and gets about 36 mpg (combined) right now. Not bad.

spookybathtub 01-31-2015 09:59 PM

Toyota recommends tires at 32 psi. One week ago I increased them to 44 psi, and also started driving more consciously, following tips from this website, and now I've moved from 37 to 43 mpg (16% increase). My car doesn't have a tach, but DashCommand is very helpful for monitoring RPMs.

spookybathtub 01-31-2015 10:16 PM

1 Attachment(s)
The heater core installation is complete, and it works very well. Previously, the air coming through the vents was about 15-20˚ warmer than the outside air (with AC off). This forced me to either open the windows or use the AC. This is because the Yaris uses a wimpy lever to block the heater from the air ducts.

Parts:
Four Seasons 74701 valve - $12
hose clamps - $4

This valve has a vacuum actuator, which is incompatible with the Yaris. It's very difficult to find manual valves in the right size. So I modified this with a hacksaw, leaving a manual actuator lever.

Now the vent air is almost the same temperature as outside, maybe 2-3˚ warmer. And I imagine the engine heats up faster too.

http://ecomodder.com/forum/attachmen...4&d=1422760586

spookybathtub 01-31-2015 10:22 PM