EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   Yowsa! (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/yowsa-25388.html)

Dad and Dotter 03-28-2013 05:05 PM

Yowsa!

Greetings, everyone.

My daughter is an automotive technician with an interest in ecomodding. Her trouble is that she has little time due to her work, pets and boyfriend.

Enter semi-retired Dad. I've a technical backgound and have always been a tinkerer, one way or another. I'm old enough that I used to be a shade tree mechanic before fuel injection, electronics, and ridiculously tightly packed, poorly accessible engine compartments came on the scene.

So.... I catch the bug from my daughter and start looking at a lot of stuff and reading a lot of forums.

Ecomodder seems an island of sanity, reason, and civility.

As a techie with an almost Aspergerian desire for measurement, I'd love to be able to do my own emissions measurements and logging, especially on-the-fly. To buy such a system I think is about $6K-- that's what a local school paid for theirs. Many of us semi-retired Dads don't have that kind of money in petty cash on a regular basis, so I thought that I would put together my own system (at least until Publisher's Clearinghouse shows up at my door with that big, big check).

Apparently DIY emissions analysis is a very rare topic, so rare that I can't find anything.

"Who will help me plant this wheat?" said the little red rooster.

I have seen it written on these pages that ecommodding is about the fun, not the money. I like that sentiment very much, and I would add to it my own great desire to keep learning and sharing what I learn.

jeff88 03-28-2013 05:31 PM

Welcome! It's always good to have experienced members who know about engines and it seems you have it. I hope EM can help you in your endeavors.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dad and Dotter (Post 363867)