View Single Post
Old 05-21-2009, 01:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Matt Herring
Master EcoModder

Bone's 2010 Prius - '10 Toyota Prius Black
90 day: 56.78 mpg (US)
A couple thoughts (and I'm no Prius expert but I drive one and have spent alot of time at priuschat.com over the past 6 weeks soaking up as much info. as possible over there):

Common sense tells me,

1. I would want to know exactly what the warning light on the dash is indicating. Is it low tire pressure or is it a major engine/battery/electrical problem? The difference could be $50 or it could be $2000 (or much more). If possible, contact the owner and ask as many questions as you need to feel comfortable putting a bid down.

2. The vehicle description leaves alot to be desired and really doesn't provide any mechanical info. It just says that they test drove it and the car worked...but it was not inspected by them or any independent party. Huge red flag if you can't go take the car for a drive or have a mechanic of your own inspect the vehicle prior to purchase. IMO, anyone that doesn't do a full inspection of a vehicle prior to purchase is asking for trouble (unless you are extremely wrench-smart or are just looking for a project car and have money to burn if/when something goes wrong or is already wrong).

3. The Prius, because of it's design, is fairly expensive when it comes to repair costs (more than the traditional vehicle). The entire car is pretty much run electronically and when that goes...the cost of repair is expensive.