View Single Post
Old 01-07-2010, 02:13 PM   #53 (permalink)
Allch Chcar
EtOH

Cordelia - '15 Mazda Mazda3 i Sport
90 day: 37.83 mpg (US)
Cool

E85 can get better fuel economy from the same displacement by lean burn aka 14.7:1 REAL Air-Fuel Ratio. That's the same Lamda value as Gasoline at 22:1. Direct Injection or semi direct injection just gets better results from Ethanol due to the latent heat of evaporation. I'm not an expert on Ethanol's properties only that they exist. A turboed charged engine with an oxygenated/alcohol fuel like ethanol or methanol gets better results from lower octane fuels because of this trait.

It has been possible for some time, its already been done too.
20mpg Taurus.
My point is the benefit to E85 in Flexfuel vehicles is only during lean burn and HIGH compression.
The best choice for me is downsizing but adding a turbo to keep stock performance. Not necessary but nice for driving around.

And my final comment is a quote from the 20mpg Taurus Article,"Because the heat of vaporization of ethanol is 2.4 times that of gasoline and the octane number is in excess of 100, compression ratios of about 15:1 are possible with direct-injection, giving optimized efficiency for a spark-ignition engine."
Methanol is only 25% higher "heat of vaporization than ethanol so once you switch to alcohol the benefit is not as much as it is compared to switching from a petroleum based fuel. This is also the reason Ethanol has cold starting issues, it doesn't freeze till below zero but it does gel at a certain point.