View Single Post
Old 03-27-2008, 11:58 PM   #27 (permalink)
Chris D.
EcoModding Minded

Lunar Mist - '02 Toyota Tacoma SR5
90 day: 25.31 mpg (US)

Silver Streak - '08 Toyota Corolla S
90 day: 38.25 mpg (US)
Send a message via AIM to Chris D.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazarus View Post
Do you have some info or experiences to show other wise. I don't think anyone will tell you run over max sidewall pressures for liability reason just like no ones going to say drive 80 in a 55.

As mention lots of folks are running 50 psi and have gone through set with no ill effects. Auto crosser run higher pressures, stun drivers, and police departments without problems. Personaly I don't think there is that much to be gained between 40- 50 except a rougher ride. But if you have some info please share.
I've been an avid Autocrosser for well over 12 years in several different classes..
I worked as a manager of a tire shop for 6 years..

Tires were my thing..

I've ran upwards of 65-70psi while autocrossing on yoko ao32r's because my sidwall indication marks called for it to eliminate roll..

I aligned my own vehicles myself for a variety of different setups which include drag racing, autocross, offroading and recentally commuting.
I've also specialized in countless hours of setting up cars for dynamic alignment (look it up) as well as the standard static alighnment.

If you understand how tires are made (and I do) dd your tires above your specs can cause belt seperation, material fatigue, warping, ect.