Thread: Hi from Texas!
View Single Post
Old 07-11-2010, 09:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
phunky.buddha
Blow stuff up

S2000 - '03 Honda S2000
Team Honda
90 day: 24.42 mpg (US)
Hi from Texas!

Hey everybody, the name is Mike. I've been lurking around on this site pretty much since it opened, but only now decided to create an account.

Why? I'm not really the gas saving type- I mostly see good gas mileage as a positive side effect of what I choose to drive and how I choose to drive it!

About me:

Mechanical Engineer (BSME UT Austin)
Job = build stuff to blow stuff up, if I told you more I'd have to kill you
Side job = build stuff to make cars faster, more below...
Plays on lots of performance motorhead forums (admin @ HondaSwap)

So I've basically been playing with cars as long as I can remember. My wife says I'm obsessed- I say I'm focused. When I graduated college about 10 years ago, I didn't see anything I liked in the market to buy for a new car- so I decided to have a new engine built for my Civic and convert it to manual. Now before you get all crazy and think "oh it's another Fast and Furious lamer," I don't particularly care for what that series of movies has done to the image of the import industry. My modding style = fast without calling attention to myself, or basically, I like to build "sleepers."

Picture story:

---- snip ----

So I guess I wouldn't have known that I had to have 5 posts before I could link images in... and I had a huge long post with tons of inline images for everyone to peek at. Oops.

I started off playing with a 95 Civic sedan - 3 total engine builds, all of which died for various reasons, and had tons of fun- and loads of suspension work to make the car stick. Over 1G in the corners wasn't a problem, over 1G in braking with no fade was a piece of cake, car ran high 12s in the quarter mile with a full interior, got 32mpg on the highway, and would cruise topped out in 5th gear @ 150mph without breaking a sweat.