View Single Post
Old 05-16-2008, 04:59 PM   #70 (permalink)
awillard69
EcoModding Apprentice

Dakota - '00 Dodge Dakota Club Cab, Sport
90 day: 18.57 mpg (US)

Jeep - '01 Jeep Wrangler TJ Sport
90 day: 18.46 mpg (US)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcb View Post
So how do I have 64 bit math on the arduino without the 7k libraries. I can't declare one long long without running out of space. But need to do some accurate multiplying/dividing that would benefit from the extra bits. Does anyone know of any short and sweet 64 bit math routines handy that take less than 7000 bytes?
I couldn't wait for my board to get assembled, so I started playing with the latest code here at work.

I was able to shrink the sketch size from 7464 bytes to 6642 bytes (11% reduction) by just adjusting the data types used. For instance where you have
Code:
for( int x = 0; x < 10; x++ )
You can save space by converting it to
Code:
for( byte x = 0; x < 10; x++ )
It can be anywhere from 1 to 3 bytes, depending on system. Note: I cannot verify that any changes do not negatively impact the operation of the code itself.

Just changing the various loop control variables from "int" to "byte", I was able to reduce the size quite a bit.

Nextly, removing variables from the global scope has an even greater impact.

For instance, moving
Code:
int vsspinstate=0;
into the function where it is used saves 40 bytes! I think that maybe you planned to use it elsewhere, but are not currently. If you don't intend to use it, trim it completely and save the space altogether.